Scoundrel

09Jan11

Author: Zoë Archer

Publisher: Zebra (2010)

Pages: 400

Synopsis: London Harcourt’s father is bent on subjugating the world’s magic to British rule. But since London is a mere female, he hasn’t bothered to tell her so. He’s said only that he’s leading a voyage to the Greek isles. No matter, after a smothering marriage and three years of straitlaced widowhood, London jumps at the opportunity—unfortunately, right into the arms of Bennett Day.

Bennett is a ladies’ man, when he’s not dodging lethal attacks to protect the powers of the ancients from men like London’s father. Sometimes, he’s a ladies’ man even when he is dodging them. But the minute he sees London he knows she will require his full attention. The woman is lovely, brilliant, and the only known speaker of a dialect of ancient Greek that holds the key to calling down the wrath of the gods. Bennett will be risking his life again—but around London, what really worries him is the danger to his heart…

Opinion:

The second book in the The Blades of the Rose series tells the story of Bennett Day and London Harcourt, as they go on another Blade adventure, this time with the sea, and the Greek Islands as scenario. The storyline in this is similar to the one in the first book – man and woman join forces to solve a puzzle, find and ancient magical object that some evil people are after, and fall in love in the process.

As expected, I enjoyed this book – it has all the elements that I found entertaining in book one, those things that kept me reading and wanting more, nevertheless, Bennett, as charming and handsome as he is, didn’t quite strike me as Gabriel, the hero from Warrior, did; and neither did London, compared with Thalia. Yes, they are good characters, and yes, they have good chemistry together, but somehow I found myself bored with them by the middle of the book, and getting more and more interested in the other couple, Kallas and Athena. And of course…the must in Scoundrel for me, were the bits about Catullus Graves, near the end! (My poor, sweet Catullus…all alone in the world…)

I’m not saying another word about the sex scenes in this series again because I’m pretty sure I said it all in my Warrior review, and I hate to nag. So yes, I’ll keep reading about the Blades in 2011 – I’m almost there, Catullus! 😀

Rating: 6/10

Goodreads ǀ The Book Depository UK ǀ The Book Depository.com ǀ Amazon.com ǀ Gam.Co


3 Responses to “Scoundrel”

  1. I’m now reading the first book, but I can’t say if I like it or not, yet.

    It looks like you enjoyed the first better, but this one can’t be that bad if you’re sticking with the saga. XD

    • Yes, Warrior was my favourite of the two. I have to keep reading Ana, I have a huge crush on Catullus, and he’s the hero in the last book!:D


  1. 1 Rebel | Cuidado com o Dálmata

Deixe um comentário