Bout of Books 12 ~ Goals and Updates

05Jan15

english-post

* * *

Bout of Books
Participant: jen7waters

Goals

  • Read every day
  • Participate in all the challenges
  • Finish reading the books I’m currently reading: Dying For Christmas, and Forest Born;
  • Read Crooked Heart by Lissa Evans, or at least start reading it

Books to Read

Updates

Monday – 05/Jan

Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Books: Finished reading Dying for Christmas, I only had about 60 pages left
Challenges:

20150106_145916

Find a book with the following criteria on a bookshelf:

1. Find an author with the same initials as you – Okay this was really hard, I didn’t even think I had a book like this, but suddenly there was a Cassandra Rose Clarke book staring at me with its paper eyes;
2. Find a book with the color yellow on it – Where Dreams Begin by Lisa Kleypas;
3. Find an author’s name with the letter “S” in it – I’ll give you two, Sharon Shinn;
4. Find a book with a female protagonist – Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews;
5. Find the longest book you own – I really think it’s Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor;
6. Find a book with a map in it or on it – Mr.Stark is kindly showing you all my find, a map of the Dark City from Sanctum by Sarah Fine;
7. Find a book with a face on it (photograph or illustrated) – Delirium by Lauren Oliver;
Bonus: Find something on your shelf that isn’t a book – Tony lives in my bookshelf.

Link to my comment

* * *

Tuesday – 06/Jan

Number of books I’ve read today: 0
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Books: read Dying For Christmas; also read about 50 pages of Forest Born
Challenges:

Top 10 Recommendations — Trees of Reverie

You’ve just started to work at a bookstore (or library) – what are your top ten go-to book recommendations?

  1. Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier – for fantasy fans, and really everyone who loves strong female heroines. This is my favorite book of all time and I’ll never get tired of recommending it to people. And read the whole Sevenwaters series while you’re at it, friend. Thank me later—when you come back for more Juliet Marillier books.
  2. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell – or any other RR book because all of them are just… just… asdfghjk. It’s like Rainbow knows you, and writes for you.
  3. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan – this is the first step to become a crazed Rick Riordan fan, and you really need to read the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series before The Heroes of Olympus which is BLOODY FANTASTIC. Recommended for all kinds of readers *whispers: Harry Potter fans*.
  4. The Life of Pi by Yann Martel – for a more adult crowd, this book will surprise you, and make your brain hurt, and go into shock mode. So creative and emotional.
  5. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell – for Jane Austen/The Brontes fans. Gaskell doesn’t get enough love and she really should. + Watch the mini-series with Richard Armitage afterwards!
  6. Cinder by Marissa Meyer – The Lunar Chronicles is a must read for fairytale retellings fans.
  7. I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak – for people who like weird, brilliant, and hilarious books with underdog protagonists.
  8. The Map of Bones by James Rollins – for Dan Brown fans.
  9. The Duke and I by Julia Quinn – for historical romance fans. Meet the Bridgertons. Cry and laugh and feel things.
  10. Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews – this is one of my favorites in the urban fantasy/paranormal romance genre for adults. If you like BAMF heroines, complex plots, swoony-slow-burn-I-hate-you-but-I-love-you romance please take the entire Kate Daniels series home with you.

Books that almost made the list: Villette by Charlotte Bronte, I could recommend this one instead of North and South because they’re both fantastic kind-of-forgotten-classics, but North and South is not as tragic as Villette and I’d rather recommend something that will make the reader happy in the end; Robin McKinley is also a favorite in the fantasy/retellings genre, but I don’t love all her books with passion like I love Juliet and Marissa Meyer. Same for Maria V.Snyder, I could recommend her books for fans of fantasy with strong female protagonists, but the only book from her that I love love love is Poison Study, the other 2 books in the trilogy are kinda meh.

* * *

Wednesday – 07/Jan

Number of books I’ve read today: 0
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Books: read Dying For Christmas; started reading Crooked Heart
Challenges:

Here is how it works:

  1. You must take two characters from two different books and put them together in a relationship. Make sure you list the book and author that the characters comes from.
  2. You must explain why you put them together.
  3. The relationship is up to you (friendship, romantic, parental, etc.), let’s just keep it appropriate, please.
  4. Characters must come from different books and series. Same author is okay with me as long as they aren’t in the same series or a companion series.
  5. Post your couple wherever you are updating your progress. It can be your blog, Twitter, Goodreads, YouTube, etc. You’ll need the link to post in the Rafflecopter for the giveaway.

Ooooh, I want a bromance between Raffe from the Penryn and the End of Days series by Susan Ee, and Akiva from The Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor SO BAD. They have a lot in common: the wings, the hotness, the handsomeness, the fact that the ladies they love, and would die a thousand deaths for, are “their enemies”, and so on. Plus, I really want them to have a guy friend, especially Raffe, because he has no one (besides Penryn). I think Akiva could help him a lot with his girl-problems—you see, Raffe is in denial, with his “I don’t even like you” comments while staring adoringly at Penryn, and Akiva knows you have to follow your heart no matter what, and that you must never lose hope. Raffe seriously needs friendly advice.

* * *

Thursday – 08/Jan

Number of books I’ve read today: 0
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Books: Gave up reading Crooked Heart, started reading Ignite
Challenges:

* * *

Friday – 09/Jan

Number of books I’ve read today: 0
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Books: Today I read a couple of Ignite chapters
Challenges:

To enter this challenge, you must do the following…

  • Think about a book you finished or are currently reading.
  • Create a series of images that describe what is going on in the book and post them somewhere, tumblr, your blog, twitter, instagram, etc. Use #boutofbooks so everyone can see!

Okay, so right now I’m reading Ignite by Erica Crouch and I’m only a couple of pages in but here are some pictures:

HeavenOrHellSigncan’t find the source
1260610-bigthumbnailsource
Fallen_Angel_by_LuneDeCresetsource
emo-angel-boy-t5-1source

* * *

Saturday – 10/Jan

Number of books I’ve read today: 0
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Books:
Challenges:

The challenge: Share an image of a quote in your current Bout of Books read wherever you’re updating your Bout of Books status/updates, or on Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook (so long as your account isn’t private and we can all view it). And be sure to use the #boutofbooks hashtag so we can all check out your creations!

Okay, so this is a quote from Forest Born by Shannon Hale, and this little bit where Rinna is saying goodbye to her mother just broke me:

forestborn-quote

* * *

Sunday – 11/Jan

Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books:
Challenges:
Out of all the books you’ve ever read and all the characters you’ve ever known who would you choose to be in your family?
  1. Select your characters and give each of them a title (mom, dad, sister, uncle, cousin). Get goofy or be super serious. Up to you!
  2. Tell me a little bit about WHY you’d choose these characters for their spot in your fam!
  3. Now have a bit of fun and tell me (in a short sentence or a long paragraph) HOW is your family dysfunctional.

Here goes:

Mom & Dad – Mr and Mrs Weasley from the Harry Potter series by JKR

Sister – Lizzie Bennet from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Uncle – Howl from Howl’s Moving Castle by DWJ

Cousin – Leo Valdez from The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

I’ve always thought the Weasleys were some of the best parent-figure characters around and no doubt would pick them as my own parents if suddenly I stumbled into the fictional world; they’re both kind, funny, unprejudiced, have the biggest hearts, and clearly would do everything for their kids, plus I would get to have a sweater with my initial on it made by mum!😀

I love Lizzie’s fierceness, cleverness, confidence, witty humour—and the fact that she knows she is and has all of this—, her love for books, and, hello: her taste in men. We could share and discuss books and talk about Mr Darcy all night long, and also make fun of silly presumptuous people (not out loud, of course, just between ourselves) during fancy balls. Oh yeah.

Uncle Howl! Just imagine the possibilities! He’s so hilarious and crazy and I love him so much. Honestly I think he would be the best kind of that cool uncle who takes you out to do fun things the parents always think are reckless, too dangerous, or not age appropriate. Plus he has a magic moving castle!! and Calcifer!! AND AUNT SOPHIE.

Cousin Leo would be extremely fun to hang out with because that boy is a one man show; plus he’s brilliant and can build cool things from basically nothing, and cook vegetarian meals for his cousin dearest. And did I mention HE HAS A FLYING METAL DRAGON! *screams*

So that’s my lovely dysfunctional family. Why dysfunctional? Well, I think the main origin of dysfunctionality would be Howl, you never know what’s gonna happen with him around; there’s also Leo with his dragon and inventions that can blow up at any minute, but no doubt would marvel papa Weasley, and at the same time drive mum nuts. Meanwhile there’s myself and Lizzie trying to read or not scare Darcy away. Hah! FUN.

This challenge is called #insixwords ! The point of this challenge is to choose 2-3 books whether you read them this week, they are a few of your favorites or they were just the easiest ones to come up with something for. For these books you choose to use for this challenge, you must summarize/share your thoughts or feelings about the book in just six words! They can be funny or serious, positive or negative, it is all up to you!

Harry Potter series

Hagrid: You’re a horcrux, Harry

The Fault In Our Stars

Extremely pretentious teen couple gets laid

Hunger Games series

*volunteers to save sister*

*sister dies*

 



18 Responses to “Bout of Books 12 ~ Goals and Updates”

  1. I love your Iron Man figure! Great finds. Thanks for playing along.
    Stefani @ Caught Read Handed

    • Thanks, Stefani! He’s pretty cool. Though we can’t compliment him too much or Tony’s ego will burst. He’s already insufferable as he is.

      • Hahaha. Totally agree. Do you read comics? If so, you should check out the Superior Iron Man run, which is new. He’s so much worse. I love it. Haha.

      • Right now I’m only reading Saga in the graphic novels department, but I used to read the genre a lot, I have a huge box somewhere in the house full of Spiderman comics. I’ve never read Iron Man stuff though. D’:

  2. 5 Lori

    I love the bromance you created! It sounds like they’d be perfect for each other! Thanks so much for participating today! Enjoy your reading🙂

  3. 7 bookgoil

    Ooooo! Angels! I love angel books, I will have to check that one out. Love all the images you found.

    • Yes! lots of angels! I wanted more diversity of pictures but I’ve only read like 30 pages so far, and long story short: angels.

  4. I LOVE your book family!!!! You have some of my own favorite characters on there. Howl would make a FANTASTIC uncle!

    Loved it! Thanks for participating and Happy B.O.B!

  5. 11 Pragya

    I just added some of those books from your top 10 to my TBR. Love your dysfunctional family, I have read Howl’s moving castle and Pride and Prejudice. Now that would be a spectacle for sure!

  6. thanks for partaking in my challenge. I thought your #insixwords were absolutely amazing and so funny!

  7. 15 Vonnie

    OMG!!! I love your responses for Sunday’s challenges!!!! Your sixwords made me laugh!

    Vonnie’s Reading Corner

  8. I love your challenge answers! I think the Weasleys are some of the greatest parents in literature for all of the reasons you listed. I thought about using them as my parents in the challenge, but ended up having them as my aunt/uncle so I could include their kids as my cousins.


  1. 1 Bout of Books 12 ~ Wrap Up | Cuidado com o Dálmata

Deixe uma Resposta

