The Daylight War

16Abr13
the-daylight-war-9780007276196Author: Peter V. Brettenglish-post
Series: Demon Cycle, #3
Publisher: HarperVoyager (11 Feb 2013)
ISBN 13: 9780007276196
Format: Hardback
Pages: 560

Synopsis: On the night of a new moon all shadows deepen. Humanity has thirty days to prepare for the next demon attack, but one month is scarcely enough time to train a village to defend themselves, let alone an entire continent caught in the throes of civil war. Arlen Bales understands the coreling threat better than anyone. Born ordinary, the demon plague has shaped him into a weapon so powerful he has been given the unwanted title of saviour, and attracted the attention of deadly enemies both above and below ground. Unlike Arlen, Ahmann Jardir embraces the title of Deliverer. His strength resides not only in the legendary relics he carries, but also in the magic wielded by his first wife, Inevera, a cunning and powerful priestess whose allegiance even Jardir cannot be certain of. Once Arlen and Jardir were like brothers. Now they are the bitterest of rivals. As humanity’s enemies prepare, the only two men capable of defeating them are divided against each other by the most deadly demons of all: those that lurk in the human heart.

Review:

The Daylight War, the third book in the Demon Cycle series, was my first Peter V. Brett book—yes, shame on me—which means I kind of fell into the world of Krasia with no parachute to support my fall, but honestly I never felt lost in the story, I just kept reading and eventually it all made sense.

The books starts with the tale of this young girl, Inevera, who is destined to be a powerful dama’ting, a holy woman of Krasia, and I was instantly hooked on her story from page one. Inevera is taken from her family to start her dama’ting training at a very young age, and because of her skills she is constantly bullied by other girls. No doubt I loved this character at this stage—she is fierce, she is wise beyond her years, and she always has the guts to stand up for herself even though those other girls are older and experienced.

This part of the story was actually the prologue, and when the first chapter comes along, more than thirty years have passed (yes, 30), and Arlen Bales, the series’s protagonist, is introduced. Arlen and his betrothed, Renna, are on the road, slaying demons as they go—which is the theme of this series, Krasia is plagued by vicious demons who eat people, and these badass characters slay them just like normal folks put a knife through butter.

Arlen and Renna also have quite the romance going on, lots of declarations of love are exchanged between them throughout the story, which were fun to read, albeit surprising.

At some point the story goes back into the past and Inevera is all grown up and empowered, and I kind of assumed that an extremely uncomfortable scene was coming my way, Inevera kept dropping hints, still I was not prepared for what I read. Turns out that all dama’tings must be deflowered by their God, yes, a spiritual being, and well, I won’t spoil it, but let me just say it’s not fun. AT ALL.

Eventually, both Inevera’s world and Arlen’s collide, Inevera is Ahmann’s first wife, and Ahmann is Arlen’s foe. To be honest, my love for Inevera slowly faded as her character matured, and neither she nor Ahmann were my favorites at this point, so Arlen won this round.

In the end, the turn off of this book for me was that I felt like so many things happened, so many characters were introduced, and still the story as a whole didn’t wow me. Plus the constant back and forth in time was a bit overwhelming.

Don’t get me wrong, though, I’m happy that I finally got to read Peter V. Brett, and I can honestly recommend this series for readers who enjoy epic fantasy with lots of demon slaying, battles, and war strategy. The author is clearly a master at worldbuilding.

(I received an uncorrected proof copy of this book as part of The Book Depository’s affiliate reviewing program in exchange for an honest review. Thanks, guys.)

Rating: 6/10

GoodreadsThe Book Depository.com


No Responses Yet to “The Daylight War”

  1. Deixe um Comentário

Deixe uma Resposta

