Wicked Valentine’s ~ Goals and Updates

06Fev13
_english-postwicked-valentines-readathonParticipant: jen7waters
Sign ups: @My Shelf Confessions

The Wicked Valentine’s Read-A-Thon is a time when we all get together to dedicate the days of February 7-14 to as much reading as possible. You read as much as you can in order to get yourself a little further through that huge to-read pile! We know real life gets in the way and even if you can’t participate more than one day, you’re welcome to join in on the fun!

~From the Wicked Valentine’s Read-a-thon sign up post

* * *

Rejoice people—it’s Wicked read-a-thon time, again!

yes

As always, my goals include: read every day, interact with fellow readathoners, and hopefully participate in all the challenges.

And here are the books I’m planning to read:

Easy by Tammara Webber

The Twisted Tragedy of Miss Natalie Stewart by Leanna Renee Hieber

Austenland by Shannon Hale

A Hunger Like No Other by Kresley Cole

wicked-valentines

Let’s do this!😀

_______________Updates_______________

Thursday 07 Feb

What I’ve read today: Started and finished Easy
Total of books I’ve read so far: 1

*Challenge*

The Love ‘Ship | April @My Shelf Confessions

THE CHALLENGE: Your mission should you choose to accept it is to pick an established relationship (get it, “‘ship” LOL) from any book or series and then tell me what sort of cruise they would go on – we all know there are SO many themed cruise ships, and you can make up a theme too! Where would the travel destination stops be? What fun things would they do together during the week? And best of all, explain why you chose what you chose! Essentially you are their cruise ship travel agent trying to give them the trip of a lifetime that they’ll love! OH and what’s the cruise ship named?

Okay, so I found out that there’s this themed cruise called Murder at Sea, and immediatly I wanted to put Sherlock Holmes and Dr.Watson in it. I know, I know, their relationship in the books will be forever stuck inside the closet (as opposed to their relationship in the tv series), but alas, it is a relationship. Since they live in rainy, gloomy London, I’m thinking their destination needs to be beachy and sunny, like The Bahamas.

Well besides solving the “crime” committed on board (Watson could title it as “A Study in Navy Blue”), which is the funnest activity they could ever enroll in, they could also do some chemistry experiments, people watching & deducing, a Guess the Poison drinking game, take some salsa lessons and an aerobics class (no cruise is complete without them) and of course, at the end of the day they could totally relax with some corpse spanking (according to Sherlock, this is a forensic technique) at the ship’s own morgue. They would have so much fun!

Oh, by the way, the ship is called Killing Me Softly.

_____________________________________

Friday 08 Feb

What I’ve read today: Read 122 pages of A Hunger Like No Other
Total of books I’ve read so far: 1

*Challenge*

The Dating Game | Beckie @Bittersweet Enchantment

THE CHALLENGE: This challenge is called The Dating Game. The idea is to choose two different book characters to go on a date. Although each character must be from two totally different books or series. Once you know who you are going to choose then your next step is to tell me where they will being going on the date. Next, I need to know what they will be doing on their date and why you think both characters would make a great couple. You are welcome to use pictures if you’d like. 

So, I’m sending Karou, from the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, and Christian, from the Unearthly series, on a date.

Where…? To do what…? They are going to a bowling alley. You know, this is Christian we’re talking about, this date can only suck.

Why? Well, I think they make a great couple, because she only needs to raise her hands to inflict him pain. Kill him, Karou, KILL THE SONOFAB*TCH. stab

Yes, this is my serious answer.

_____________________________________

Saturday 09 Feb

What I’ve read today: 100 pages of A Hunger Like No Other
Total of books I’ve read so far: 1

*Challenge*

Clue to My Heart | Kathy @I Write, I Read, I Review

DONE

_____________________________________

Sunday 10 Feb

What I’ve read today: Read 22% of Austenland
Total of books I’ve read so far: 2

*Challenge*

Valentine’s Day Cover Ball | Kimberly @Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer

valentines-ball

THE CHALLENGE: For this challenge, and to receive your ticket, using book covers, show us your dress for the ball, your date, and how you will arrive.

My date, my dress, and yes, Buckbeak is my ride.😀

alteredentwinedharry-potter-3

_____________________________________

Monday 11 Feb

What I’ve read today: Didn’t read today *cries*
Total of books I’ve read so far: 2

*Challenge*

Lines of Love | Pabkins @My Shelf Confessions

THE CHALLENGE:

The challenge requirements, oh evil things that they are:

♥ In the current book you are reading flip to a random page

♥ Roll four dice, add each die’s number together, the total is your line number(aka line=sentence) [convenient website for dice rolling here]

♥ Make the line romantic in some way. (You don’t have to use the whole line, but at least half of it and whatever you add of your own can’t be more than half the total quote.)

I got a total of 17 in my dice rolling, and this is sentence 17 on the random page I choose from Austenland:

“Oriental rug. She was completely ridiculous. At the same”

and here’s my romantic line:

Her hair was a mess, her face was dirty, her dress looked like an old, tattered rug, and he knew she was feeling awkward and completely ridiculous, but she was his love, and his heart started beating faster at such lovely sight.

She was ridiculous, and he loved her that way.

_____________________________________

Tuesday 12 Feb

What I’ve read today: Austenland 50%
Total of books I’ve read so far: 2

*Challenge*

Cover Lover | Alicia @Book a World

DONE

_____________________________________

Wednesday 13 Feb

What I’ve read today: Finished Austenland
Total of books I’ve read so far: 3

*Challenge*

Character Crush | April @My Shelf Confessions

THE CHALLENGE: Who is your dream character crush? What would you like them to bring and/or do on Valentine’s Day that would steal your heart? 

My dream character crush is and will always be Red, the male protagonist of my favorite book, Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier. He’s like perfection in one character. One time I described him as a bundle of all things awesome, like rainbows, unicorns, bunnies, puppies, kittens, the smell of the earth after a rainy day, and chocolate, sweet, tasty, addictive chocolate, and new books! He’s like that feeling of warmth that spreads through your body when the sun touches your skin. That’s him. Not kidding.

Ooh, he would only need to show up, no other gift or action would be required. (Although a back massage would be nice.)

_____________________________________

Thursday 14 Feb

What I’ve read today: Read 30 pages of The Twisted Tragedy of Miss Natalie Stewart
Total of books I’ve read so far: 3




16 Responses to “Wicked Valentine’s ~ Goals and Updates”

  1. 1 p7

    Hm… prevejo umas boas leituras para o RAT.😉

    • Concordo. Já sou fã de 3 daquelas autoras, por isso essas têm obrigatoriamente de correr bem. Ai delas!😀

      • 3 p7

        Ok, matei-me a rir com a tua resposta ao desafio dos dates.😀

      • Gostaste? xD

        Já viste? Como não nos lembramos antes? A Karou é a solução para os nossos problemas!

        (Isto vai correr tão bem se alguém da ‘Team Christian’ repara na minha resposta lá no post *rebola no chão a rir*)

      • 5 p7

        Bem, por esta linha de raciocínio podia livrar-me de quaisquer anjos que não goste em livros paranomais…. hmmm. xD

        Lol, era bonito, era.😛

  2. So excited you’re joining us again! It’s always great to see your name on the sign up list! ;D I LOVE that gif haha it’s awesome! Good luck on your reading goals! Twisted Tragedy looks really good – definitely going to be checking that one out further. I think I’ve read another book by Leanna Renee Heiber.. did she write the Miss Percy Parker book? *thinking* I know her name looks familiar!😀

    Hope you have an amazingtastic time with us! Happy reading and see you around soon!😀

    • Hi April! Awww you’re too kind. :3

      Yes, The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker is by that same author, I’ve read it too, but my favorite is Darker Still, and this one, The Twisted Tragedy of Miss Natalie Stewart is the sequel. I’m very excited to read it.😀

      Thank you, I certainly will!

  3. 8 Pragya

    Jen, good to meet you again. 1.5 books done, wow! Great books. Did you like Easy. Love your challenge answers. In fact, a minute back I finished watching Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows.

    • Thanks!
      Yes! I read Easy in one day, liked it a lot, and I can certainly recommend it.

      Ah, the new Sherlock Holmes movies with Robert D. Junior are great, but my favorite Sherlock is the one from the BBC mini-series—I love that show so much. :3

      • 10 Pragya

        I haven’t seen the show, putting that on my must-do list. I should read Easy sometime, been on my tbr since long.

      • Do watch it when you can, it’s really great.😀

  4. Buckbeak! What a great idea🙂 And I love that your ship choice is Watson and Holmes in the Bahamas! Congrats on your read-a-thon progress so far, and happy reading!

    • Thanks Victoria!😀

      Buckbeak is a sweetheart, you can go for a ride once I get to the ball! Just take a warm jaket, it’s freezing up there.

  5. 14 Pragya

    I was thinking of that dress too. Love your transportation.

    My Ball preparations are here

    • Oh no, are we going to be in the same dress? ahah, it’s okay, we will have to avoid each other at the ball though xD

  6. I totally love your transport to the Ball…awesome!


Deixe uma Resposta

