Seer of Sevenwaters

20Dez10

Author: Juliet Marillier

Publisher: Roc (2010)

Pages: 418

Synopsis: The young seer Sibeal is visiting an island of elite warriors, prior to making her final pledge as a druid. It’s there she finds Felix, a survivor of a Viking shipwreck, who’s lost his memory. The scholarly Felix and Sibeal form a natural bond. He could even be her soul mate, but Sibeal’s vocation is her true calling, and her heart must answer.  As Felix fully regains his memory, Sibeal has a runic divination showing her that Felix must go on a perilous mission-and that she will join him. The rough waters and the sea creatures they will face are no match for Sibeal’s own inner turmoil. She must choose between the two things that tug at her soul-her spirituality and a chance at love…

Opinion:

**spoiler free**

And Marillier does it again. Writes to sweep her readers off their feet, and crave for more. (Moooore. Moooooore.) Seer was a lovely comeback to Sevenwaters, or shall I say, to its characters, because this time the Sevenwaters forest will be present only in Sibeal’s thoughts and tales to help Felix get better. Does the story loses its magic because of it? Not at all. It is my deepest belief Juliet could send any of these characters to the most exotic places and the Sevenwaters magic would still be there, because it lives in them, in the love that clearly shows when a character thinks or speaks of the forest, tells the story of the brothers turned into swans, or that one about the girl who saved the Painted Man (and so on). But Sibeal doesn’t even go that far, and Inis Eala with Johnny, Clodagh, Muirrin, Cathal, Gull, and so many others, can surely be called home.

Seer’s tale starts in the island, with Sibeal managing between her druid’s tasks, and –to the reader’s rejoice– helping Felix restore his health; but later there’s a rescue mission that requires a group to get on a ship, sail through unknown waters, reach an unknown place, home of a legendary seamonster, and save a few of Felix’s comrades. I won’t say the boat trip was my favorite part (because my favorite part was the whole book), but it was the one that kept me reading all night, until morning. I loved Juliet’s take on the seamonster myth (I can’t say more or I’ll spoil it, and I don’t want to) and how she portrayed the creature. Sometimes I seem to forget that it’s so like her to make the reader see the other side of a story, a character, and even of a terrifying, men-eating beast.

Prior to my reading, with only the synopsis for support –Sibeal+Viking shipwreck– I often thought Seer sounded like a cross between Sevenwaters and The Light Isles. Now if someone asks me, I’ll probably be a little more specific and say it’s kind of a cross between Son of the Shadows and Wolfskin, first because there is a man in need of rescue from a dark place, this time called loss of memory/physical limitations/feeling guilty/am I brave enough?/can I do this?; second, because besides the fact that for obvious reasons the couple kept reminding me of Nessa and Eyvind -when he’s sick and she takes care of him, Sibeal also sent me the Nessa vibe when she goes through a inner war to make the choice between her religious call and her heart. But that’s not all, I also think Seer has a very mysterious storyline, from beginning to end, which at times, reminded me of some thrilling (chilling *scary*) Wolfskin moments.

Still about the couple: as always, it was delicious (really, this is the word for it) to witness their relationship grow, slowly, tenderly, and this particular set amused me greatly because they are the “nerdiest” of Juliet’s couples until date, with Sibeal being a druid, and Felix a scholar (and a poet!) – and don’t I love nerds and geeks so. (I really do :D)

About everyone else: it was delightful to meet those beloved characters from previous books again, but I’ll admit some reencounters were quite, quite painful; on the other hand, almost everyone provided me with laughing out loud scenes, being Gull, Cathal and Clodagh clearly in the leadership – I wasn’t expecting for them to be so active in this one, so it was a good surprise.

I say this all the time, and I’ll say it again: I’ll never be capable to put into words just how much I love this author and every single sentence she writes. Never. No praise is or will ever seem enough, simply because she’s beyond it. Her stories and writing go further than everything I have in high esteem. Her books, to me, are prized treasures I keep both on my bookshelf and in my heart. I do believe she knows, and at the same time doesn’t (fully), the precious gift she presents me -and I presume, all of the other fans- with, when a new book comes out, and everytime I look at my Marillier collection I immediately feel the need to somehow tell her thank you, thank you, THANK YOU. So, to finish, and as I gaze upon my Seer, I’ll just say this: thank you master storyteller, thank you queen of historical fantasy, thank you beautiful, kind, and much cherished lady, thank you for sharing your wisdom, your craft and your heart, once again, with all of us.

Rating: 10/10

Goodreads ǀ Gam.Co ǀ Amazon.com ǀ The Book Depository UK ǀ The Book Depository.com

***

Posts relacionados:

Novidade ǀ A Vidente de Sevenwaters

4 Responses to “Seer of Sevenwaters”


  1. 1 As Escolhas do Dálmata 2010 | Cuidado com o Dálmata
  2. 2 O Consultório dos Termos de Pesquisa ~ FEVEREIRO | Cuidado com o Dálmata
  3. 3 Novidade ǀ A Vidente de Sevenwaters | Cuidado com o Dálmata
  4. 4 Lisboa&Juliet | Cuidado com o Dálmata

Deixe uma Resposta

