Mockingjay

05Set10
Author: Suzanne Collins
Publisher: Scholastic (2010)
Pages: 448
Synopsis: Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge… This thrilling final instalment of this ground-breaking trilogy promises to be one of the most talked-about books of the year.

Opinion:

**spoilers**

In 3 words: sucked. Major. Ass.

No, really, it SUCKED MAJOR ASS. And I’m not saying this because my Team didn’t win. Truth to be told, that was the only thing that didn’t bother me in Mockingjay, but everything else did.

To me, the whole book resumes itself as a mix of 1- characters going mental (Katniss, Finnick, Johanna, AND PEETA, for crying out loud) and spending most of their time being taken care of, 2- stuff and people getting blown up, most of the times resulting in a bloody shower of human limbs, 3- political drama, and  4- Buttercup, the cat. Go figure.

In addition to my simplistic perception of the  plot, there are a lot of things I just can’t get over either because they happened or because they didn’t. And they are:

  • Shadow-Katniss. Since the beginning it annoyed me that our kick-ass heroine, was mentally and physically resumed to a poor version of herself and that she never recovers. Am I wrong, or she spends like 300 pages doing little else besides getting injured, going to the hospital to get medical assistance and take painkillers?
  • The war. That the hell happened?! First, I didn’t understand most of it (my own fault, I’m sure); second, we didn’t actually get to “see” President Snow coming down from his pedestal – call me crazy, but for some reason, I was expecting this amazing action sequence with Katniss chasing after him before finishing him off. Yes, she tried to, but it didn’t amaze me in the slightest.
  • Teams. Despite the fact it didn’t bother me at all that Katniss ended up with Peeta, it annoyed me a lot that she didn’t choose. Team Peeta or Team Gale was probably the biggest question mark this book had to give an answer to, the dilemma everyone was waiting to see resolved so fireworks could be launched up into the sky everywhere around the globe, and maybe I’m only speaking for myself when I say, I wanted to testify the moment, to know the reasons behind her decision, to hear her speak her heart and watch her choose with it. Well, NOTHING happened. One boy was assigned to a different district, and the other one went back to be her neighbour. She felt relieved, and ended up with the one whose residence was closest to hers. I felt punked.
  • Gale and Katniss’s mother leave without a word. This was particularly shocking and unbeliavable. They were feeling guilty for/grieving Prim’s death: yes, but for me this isn’t a good excuse whatsoever for them to just take off without a single “Goodbye Catnip, my lifelong friend!/Goodbye my now-only-daughter!”
  • Finnick and Prim’s fate: WRONG. Finnick didn’t deserve at all what happened to him, and as for Prim, what the hell was she doing at the war? When/how did she get there?
  • Katniss and Peeta ending up all burned up. I have to admit it made feel a little uncomfortable. I wasn’t expecting them to come out of a “war” with no physical injuries, but coming out like that, for me, was a bit over-the-top tragic for an YA book.

Believe me when I say, I am sorry to feel like this, for having this negative opinion about the final volume of the series I began reading with such enthusiasm, but I can’t help it if disappointed me. I truly envy those who think Mockingjay was perfect.

Rating: 2/10

5 Responses to “Mockingjay”

  1. I was disappointed with Mockingjay too and for many of the reasons you listed. Most of all for the way Katniss ended up a “shadow of herself”. Hunger Games will remain always a favorite book for me and Mockingjay well just a disappointing ending to a great series.

    • Hi Jan! Well, it’s a relief to know I’m not alone in this, it’s really sad though, I had such high expectations for this book, because it’s like you said, it’s a great series, and it never crossed my mind the end would disappoint me so.

      Shadow-Katniss depressed me all through the book, I kept waiting for the real Katniss to show up, but she never did 😦 *sigh*

  2. I could not agree more with you, except on Peeta’s part (because his craziness actually had a motive).
    Seriously, this book was one dissapointment after the other. And worst of all … Katniss reminded me of Bella (that Bella from Twilight), what’s with everything being her fault, and she doing NOTHING for the whole book.
    And there was so much potencial. Talk about being a let down!

    • I actually enjoyed Crazy-Peeta, he was funny to me xD

      Yeah, Katniss in Mockingjay = Bella in New Moon.

      • With you 100% on that last sentence.
        And I also found Peeta very “amusing”. At least he made sense.


Deixe uma Resposta

